HERITAGE NOOSA
HERITAGE NOOSA
Doonella Cottage
DETAILS
Description
As Tewantin began to develop as a holiday destination, streets nearby with access to, or views of the water, became popular real estate. Doonella Street, running along the northern rim of Lake Doonella was established soon after Tewantin began to develop, and a series of houses, ranging from substantial residences to small holiday cottages were erected there. Doonella Cottage is the only remaining timber cottage in situ from that time.
The cottage at 49 Doonella Street was built on land first registered to Henry Brown in 1875. In 1884 George Tedford bought the property and retained ownership until it was sold in 1971. The property changed hands in 1999, and the new owners subsequently restored the cottage.
The land originally fronted the lake but there is a second house on the lot at the rear which is accessed by a driveway on the eastern side of the house. Address 49, Doonella Street, Tewantin
As Tewantin began to develop as a holiday destination, streets nearby with access to, or views of the water, became popular real estate. Doonella Street, running along the northern rim of Lake Doonella was established soon after Tewantin began to develop, and a series of houses, ranging from substantial residences to small holiday cottages were erected there. Doonella Cottage is the only remaining timber cottage in situ from that time.
The cottage at 49 Doonella Street was built on land first registered to Henry Brown in 1875. In 1884 George Tedford bought the property and retained ownership until it was sold in 1971. The property changed hands in 1999, and the new owners subsequently restored the cottage.
The land originally fronted the lake but there is a second house on the lot at the rear which is accessed by a driveway on the eastern side of the house. Address 49, Doonella Street, Tewantin
Article & Manuscript
Doonella Cottage. Heritage Noosa, accessed 17/01/2026, https://heritage.noosa.qld.gov.au/nodes/view/24933






